Green Tea pulled pork

Image

Living in the south pulled pork is as much as a staple as sweet tea. Everyone has a recipe and everyone likes it a certain way.

First set your oven to 185 degrees F, the fat and connective tissue break down I was once told by a women of the earth that this fat that comes off is a great skin product. If you try it great let me know, but I have no use for the fat that is coming off from the pork. The key is to slowly raise the temperature of the meat to 185 F then keep it there for at least an hour. In an ideal world, you’d put it in a heating vessel that holds a steady 185 degree temperature then leave it there for a day … But then again in an ideal world I’d be allowed to BBQ in my Ghent  apartment and not have to go to the restaurant 13 hours a day either. I roast it in a dutch oven at 200 degree F. It will still take at least 5 hours mind you, so this isn’t a quick weeknight meal, but you could also put this into a crockpot on low and let it do it’s thing while you’re at work. I used smoked salt or liquid smoke  to give it a bit of that bbq flavour, but nothing beats putting it in a real charcoal smoker for hours on end.

4-5lbs well marbled pork butt

for the rub
2 Tbs loose green tea leaves
2 Tbs smoked salt
1 Tbs brown sugar

I like to on the eve of makeng your roast, put the ingredients for the rub in a spice grinder or blender and blitz until it ground into a relatively fine powder. Rub this into your roast then wrap with a couple layers of plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. This will also bring out the flavor of the tea a lot more.

Take the pork out of the fridge about an hour before you start cooking to let it come to room temperature. This will slowly open of the fat walls to absorb that flavor.

Unwrap the roast and put it in a dutch oven or other heavy pot with a tight sealing lid then put it in the oven. Now go try to forget about it for 5+ hours while it slowly cooks. You’ll know its done when when a fork inserted into the meat makes it come apart. I just leave it and go to work/gym/ect.. some people get nervous about this not saying your house will burn down, but if you’re clean you should be fine.

Remove the pork from the pan and when it’s cool enough to handle, “pull” the pork apart using a fork and your fingers. If your lid had a reasonable seal, you should also have some liquid at the bottom of the pan (this stuff tastes amazing) pour some of this over your meat for added flavour and moistness. If you have a lot of liquid like I did, you can dilute the broth with some water, add some pork potatoes and kale and turn it into a soup. 

For me I did sliders I just made basic cornbread with jiffy I didn’t use milk I used one can of creamed corn instead plus two table spoons of sugar.

For a slaw in keeping with the Asian theme I used:

1 green apple

1 pear

3 tbl cilantro

saki about 1/4 cup

3 tbl of sugar

small drizzle of honey

1 tbl fresh ginger

I chopped the apples and pears into fine match sticks combined all the other ingredients slowly reduced on a stove then topped it on my pork.

Leave a Reply

